Vapid no longer working

I used vapid through my terminal yesterday and earlier today. Now when I open my terminal back up and type:
vapid start mysite

I get this response:
-bash: vapid: command not found

Based on what I read from another thread, I typed in: /usr/local/bin/ | grep vapid

And then: echo $PATH.

And got: /Users/aaron/.nvm/versions/node/v12.7.0/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin.

Did you happen to change node versions using NVM?

1 Like

No I didn’t change anything in between the time it was working and when I noticed it not working. But while I was debugging I did try to reinstall both node using NVM and Vapid. Node installed just fine but Vapid gave me errors.

I’m pretty new to this terminal stuff. I used Step 0 on this page to install. I used this when I first installed on Sunday and then again yesterday while I was trying to troubleshoot. https://nodesource.com/blog/installing-node-js-tutorial-using-nvm-on-mac-os-x-and-ubuntu/

I’m running Node v12.7.0

If it helps give you any clues, here’s what I get whenever I run npm install -g @vapid/cli

Still digging but honestly have no idea if the info I’m throwing up here is helpful or not so sorry if I’m muddying the waters.

In Users/aaron/.nvm/versions/node I have two versions listed. v10.16.1 and v12.7.0. In Users/aaron/.nvm/versions/node/v12.7.0/bin there’s an alias file for Vapid that doesn’t point to anything. When I open it, I get a message: “The operation can’t be completed because the original item for “vapid” can’t be found.”

But in Users/aaron/.nvm/versions/node/v10.16.1/bin there is also an alias for Vapid that does open. Does this indicate I should roll back to v10.16.1?

Okay, so I just removed the v12 version, effectively rolling back to v10. I am now able to use Vapid commands again. I’m actually having a similar problem trying to install Vapid on another computer with Node v12.8. Should I just install v10 on there as well?